Lost Weekend

My husband and I spent a long weekend in New Orleans. With no farm chores, we slept late. I left my laptop in its case and immersed myself in the city. I ignored emails, texts, phone calls, Facebook, and Twitter. I did not read the news or weather reports.

We ate too much. We drank too much. And we held hands and walked.

To find myself, sometimes I just need to get lost.

About Darrelyn Saloom

Darrelyn Saloom co-wrote My Call to the Ring: A Memoir of a Girl who Yearns to Box (Glasnevin, 2012) with world champion boxer, Deirdre Gogarty, but her pugilistic passions are confined to a keyboard. Darrelyn lives with her husband and various critters on a horse farm in south Louisiana, where she is working on a collection of personal essays and stories. To learn more, visit her website at http://darrelynsaloom.com or follow her on Twitter: @DarrelynSaloom
This entry was posted in Stories from the Farm. Bookmark the permalink.

18 Responses to Lost Weekend

  1. I am hoping to get lost myself soon.

    • Darrelyn Saloom says:

      We rolled in yesterday, Karen. As soon as we got home, UPS delivered your book! Last night I only had time to read the powerful first chapter. I was afraid to read more because I knew I’d never get to sleep. From what I’ve seen, I’m sure I’ll read straight through tonight.

  2. Some days, I’d like to lose the laptop 🙂

  3. Love it, Darrelyn. Isn’t it so nice to be unplugged and get “immersed” in other life. 🙂 Jenni and I are going to get lost this weekend–camping in Arkansas…can’t wait!

    • Darrelyn Saloom says:

      Thanks, Dave. Hope you enjoy the weekend. I’ll be working on manuscript edits. But I’ll take a break for Deirdre’s wedding on Saturday.

  4. Bob Norton says:

    That sounds heavenly Darrelyn. Big cities are great for getting lost, and I am forunate to live near enough to New York to be able to do this from time to time. But I have also gotten lost in the mountains, in small villages, and in good books. The possibilities are endless. Thanks for the reminder!

    • Darrelyn Saloom says:

      I thought of you, Bob, as I rode into the city and looked out on Lake Pontchartrain and saw an eagle’s nest in a cypress tree.

      • Bob Norton says:

        Aww, that was so nice of you Darrelyn! You know I love eagles. I didn’t realize they ranged that far south. I could be having the worst day ever, but seeing an eagle always takes my breath away and makes my spirit soar. I’m lucky to live in an area where they are not an uncommon sight.

  5. Your weekend sounds luxurious. And fun. And romantic. And much deserved after all the hard work you’ve put in redoing the farm, tending to the farm animals, and finalizing the memoir project. I can’t think of a better way to treat yourself than a little down time from technology and “life.”

  6. Barbara Hammann says:

    Love it! But maybe you should rename it ‘Found Weekend’! We all need to treat ourselves to one of these often.

  7. cynthia says:

    I agree with Barbara–found weekend! Sounds wonderful.

  8. Darrelyn Saloom says:

    I actually went back and forth on those titles, Cynthia.

  9. I used to love to get lost when I lived in New York City, whether it was in Central Park or walking down from 85th and third to lower Manhattan, where I would inevitably get lost anyway regardless of whether I chose to or not!! As a matter of fact, being dyslexic, I rarely know where I am.

    I’m now going to get lost in your blog and back post.

  10. Carolyn says:

    I don’t know how I missed this post. Everyone needs downtime. I glad you and Danny had a chance for some R&R.

  11. google.com says:

    My spouse and I stumbled over here from a different website
    and thought I might check things out. I like what I see so now i am following you.
    Look forward to going over your web page for a second time.

Leave a Reply

