A Long Time Coming

After nearly six years of collaboration with Deirdre Gogarty and hundreds of edits and revisions with Dave Malone, I am pleased to announce My Call to the Ring: A Memoir of A Girl Who Yearns to Box is now available from Glasnevin Publishing.

You can order online from Amazon USAmazon UK,  Barnes & Noble, Waterstones, and WHSmith in Britain.

Deirdre Gogarty and I were thrilled to receive the blurbs below. And there are more on the way.

“If you’ve ever wondered why and how people do extraordinary, almost impossible things, read My Call to the Ring. Deirdre Gogarty knocked me out with this book.”—Ted Mann, former National Lampoon editor, television writer and producer

“This is a great story with a whole lot of heart. I know what it’s like to be talked down to, and so does Deirdre Gogarty. Her memoir goes toe to toe with the best boxing stories out there.”—Larry Holmes, former world heavyweight champion

“When I saw Deirdre Gogarty’s magnificent fight with Christy Martin on a Tyson show, I knew she had the grit of a real champion. After reading her memoir, I have no doubt.”—Chuck “The Real Rocky” Wepner

I am forever grateful to the people (and critters) in my daily life and on Facebook and Twitter who have kept me going with their support and encouragement. The list is long. But you know who you are, and I love you dearly.

Hope you enjoy the true story of Deirdre Gogarty as she defies convention to answer her call to the ring.

About Darrelyn Saloom

Darrelyn Saloom co-wrote My Call to the Ring: A Memoir of a Girl who Yearns to Box (Glasnevin, 2012) with world champion boxer, Deirdre Gogarty, but her pugilistic passions are confined to a keyboard. Darrelyn lives with her husband and various critters on a horse farm in south Louisiana, where she is working on a collection of personal essays and stories. To learn more, visit her website at http://darrelynsaloom.com or follow her on Twitter: @DarrelynSaloom
This entry was posted in Stories from the Farm. Bookmark the permalink.

30 Responses to A Long Time Coming

  1. Knockout story, knockout writing, knockout cover, knockout blurbs. Ain’t nobody gonna be standing. We’ll be reading on our backs. 🙂 Many many congrats for staying the course on this memoir. Words can’t describe how thrilled I’ve been to be a part of this process with you and Dee.

  2. Carolyn says:

    Congratulations! Ordered my copy! Looking forward to reading it.
    PS: your fans have been waiting, too. 🙂

  3. shirleyhs says:

    Derrelyn, you’ve been such a warm FB and Twitter friend that I can’t wait to order and read this book. In fact, I’m off to do so right now. I know I will learn a lot from your six years of blood, sweat, and tears. That image seems to fit a boxing memoir! And I know my own tears will be ones of joy for you and Deirdre. Great blurbs!

  4. cynthia says:

    This is so exciting! I can’t wait to hold a copy in my hands and begin reading. Let the celebration begin…[ or continue : ) ]

  5. Thank you, Cynthia. It’s been a joy to get to know you through your lovely blog. Looking forward to November.. 🙂

  6. Connie Collins says:

    I got my copy ! Darrelyn, you’re a delight & this story is right up my alley 😉

  7. Jenny Fickey says:

    It’s been a long time waiting for all of us who know & love your writing. I’m savoring every word.
    I borrowed an iPad to begin reading. Now I will be stalking my mailbox until my paperback copy arrives. Congratulations D & D!

  8. Dear Darrelyn: Do you remember when we stood in front of the closed bookstore in Cincinnati and visualized on the shelves? I believe with all my heart that we create our own reality, and you are living proof I am right. I am so proud of you and thrilled for you!

  9. Bob Norton says:

    Darrelyn, I am ordering my paperback copy. I can’t wait to get to know you better through your writing. Congrats on seeing your hard work finally coming to fruition; you are an inspiration for me to work towards my dreams as well. I am so glad you reached out to me on Facebook, thanks for the friendship and love you so freely give out to others. Thats what truly inpires me!

  10. Kent Byron says:

    Awesome so proud of you! Kent

    On Aug 12, 2012,

  11. jpon says:

    Congratulations Darrelyn. I love the blurbs from the fighters like Larry Holmes and Chuck Wepner. Certainly adds credibility to the story.

  12. Thank you, Joe. Teddy Altas has been at the Olympics commentating for NBC, but he’s sending us one, too. He is a trip, so I can’t wait to read his blurb. 🙂

  13. Pingback: Bestsellers » Lit A Memoir P.S.

  14. Pingback: Bestsellers » Lit A Memoir P.S.

  15. Keeley M. Landry says:

    So happy for you! Can’t wait to read it!

  16. Katy Richard says:

    I’m heading to my comfy bed right now to read it!! Congratulations, Darrelyn….I knew you could do it. You are such an inspiration!

Leave a Reply

