Unconventional Book Tour in Ireland

Photo by Thomas Guilbeau

My imagination has voyaged to Ireland for six years.

Tomorrow, I will lug two suitcases to the airport to travel with Deirdre Gogarty to her birthplace to begin an unconventional two-week book tour to promote My Call to the Ring: A Memoir of a Girl Who Yearns to Box.

A few events are pending, but here is our schedule so far:

Wednesday, September 26, 2012: After a 10-hour flight we will arrive in Dublin early Thursday morning. From the airport we head to a radio station near Grafton Street for an interview on Newstalk with Maura Fay at 9:30 a.m.

Friday, September 28: Boxing show in Wicklow (details pending).

Saturday, September 29: Book signing at Drogheda Boxing Club organized by Tommy Murphy in association with Drogheda Independent journalist Hubert Murphy at 3:30 p.m.

Sunday, September 30: Navan/Drogheda (event pending, but hoping for a day off to pluck my eyebrows).

Monday, October 1: Book signing at Carrickmacross Boxing Club at 8:00 p.m. (organized by Christina McMahon).

Tuesday, October 2: LMFM radio interview with Gerry Kelly at 2:00 p.m. Deirdre will be a guest speaker at an Al-Anon event in Coolock, Dublin later that evening. I’ll be at a pub.

Wednesday, October 3: Interview with TV3 in Dublin on Ireland AM at 8:15.

Thursday, October 4: Book signing at Saint Saviours Olympic Boxing Academy in Dublin at 7:00 p.m.

Friday, October 5: Olympic squad training at the National Stadium in Dublin at 5:00 p.m. I’ll be watching in awe.

Saturday, October 6: Irish Amateur Boxing Association’s annual convention.

Sunday, October 7: (event pending).

Monday, October 8: I will depart for the States, but Deirdre will stay until Wednesday, October 10 to join “Iron” Mike Tyson at an event in Limerick—the location of Deirdre’s only fight in her native land. She fought in an underground match because it was illegal for women to compete in boxing at the time.

I plan to blog and post images along the way. Hope you will join us on our first book tour. For those of you near the east coast of Ireland, please drop by any of the events to say hello or to have your book signed.

About Darrelyn Saloom

Darrelyn Saloom co-wrote My Call to the Ring: A Memoir of a Girl who Yearns to Box (Glasnevin, 2012) with world champion boxer, Deirdre Gogarty, but her pugilistic passions are confined to a keyboard. Darrelyn lives with her husband and various critters on a horse farm in south Louisiana, where she is working on a collection of personal essays and stories. To learn more, visit her website at http://darrelynsaloom.com or follow her on Twitter: @DarrelynSaloom
This entry was posted in Book Tour in Ireland. Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to Unconventional Book Tour in Ireland

  1. Ayse Su says:

    This is so exciting! I’m sure you’re ready for an energy blast for these eventful weeks, but hopefully you’ll be able to relax and enjoy just being in Ireland too. It would be so great if I could catch you during a pub retreat (I’m still on alert for any possibilities, although I’m afraid I’d be a burden). In any case, I can’t wait to listen to the radio interviews. Have a safe trip and let everyone know about that amazing book you wrote!

  2. You would not be a burden. I’d love for you to join me. Please come if you can.

  3. cynthia says:

    I’m so excited! My favorite event is when Deirdre will be at an Al-Anon meeting and you will be at a pub : ) Thanks for posting your schedule. Have so much fun and enjoy every second. Already looking forward to your first book tour post!

  4. Yay! Wonderful that you’ll be at the Drogheda Boxing Club on Saturday. 🙂 What joy!

  5. shirleyhs says:

    I can only imagine the excitement of this journey. Hope you will take lots of photos. Sounds like a busy schedule but also one that will allow some sightseeing. A toast to both of you and to your book!

  6. Hope you have an AWESOME time!

  7. Carolyn says:

    Onward for memory making!
    Have a great journey!
    I look forward for all the updates of your Ireland book tour and adventure.
    PS Enjoy the pub! 🙂

  8. Sally and Louis says:

    Am drinking a pint vicariously…looking forward to a picture of the plucked eyebrows in the pub and looking forward to the posts along the way. What an adventure!!! Happy Birthday my friend.

  9. Darrelyn Saloom says:

    Thanks, Sally. If only I could find where I packed my tweezers. 🙂

  10. Debra Marrs says:

    Your schedule sounds wonderful. It truly does. All is and will be magical. I LOVE Ireland SO much. Your photo of Grafton Street looks much the same as when I visited in 1988 – an eon ago. That’s what I love about European cities. They are modern and hip while maintaining the elegant and old architeture too. Hope you got in a good pub visit and had time to pluck the eyebrows prior. You are TOO funny! Hugs xoxox

  11. Pingback: The Female Conscience | Darrelyn Saloom

Leave a Reply

