Until Morning

River Boyne in Drogheda, Ireland

Last night I spoke with an Irish brogue in my dreams. That’s when I knew I’d become immersed in Ireland’s culture.

I’ve never felt so welcome with home-cooked meals and innumerable cups of tea. Deirdre’s sister Katherine even tucked a warm water bottle between my guest bed’s sheets.

Even with pots of kindness and nurturing, our book tour has been grueling. Early morning radio and TV interviews have poured into late-night boxing shows.

Deirdre has held hand pads for young pugilists at book events. Faced the possible wrath (that did not come) from a family exposed by a memoir.

“I cannot dispute a word of it,” said one of her sisters.

A relief.

Yet—following Ireland’s first woman boxing champion down the alleyways and streets of her childhood has taken its toll. Exhausted, she caught a cold and took the night off to rest.

Our journey will continue in the morning.

I wonder which road we will take and where it will lead.

About Darrelyn Saloom

Darrelyn Saloom co-wrote My Call to the Ring: A Memoir of a Girl who Yearns to Box (Glasnevin, 2012) with world champion boxer, Deirdre Gogarty, but her pugilistic passions are confined to a keyboard. Darrelyn lives with her husband and various critters on a horse farm in south Louisiana, where she is working on a collection of personal essays and stories. To learn more, visit her website at http://darrelynsaloom.com or follow her on Twitter: @DarrelynSaloom
This entry was posted in Book Tour in Ireland. Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Until Morning

  1. Carolyn says:

    Thanks for the update! Happy to hear all is well with the book tour.

  2. cydmadsen says:

    Tickled pink to see photos of your tour and read about your adventures. It looks beautiful over there. Take good care of yourself, travel safely, and here’s hoping Deirdre’s cold clears up quickly.

  3. baweibel says:

    I can certainly relate to Deirdre’s fears about the family’s reactions to her memoir. I struggle with the same thing and sometimes wonder if that is what is holding me back. I’m so glad it all worked out in her case. I know how important this tour is for you, but take care of yourselves! Hope you can get some rest and see a bit more of the country.

    • You are one of the bravest women I have ever met. Now get to work on that memoir that’s been begging to be written. If you stand back and write the truth from a place of love, you may be surpised by what happens.

  4. Thanks for the details and the great photos, especially that first one with the houses in a row! Wish I were there too.

  5. Nancy says:

    It will lead to yet more wonderful places for you my friend…

    Ron

  6. Hey, Ron. I’ve been thinking of you. Went to Saint Saviours today and met John McCormack. So sad that Pat passed away before I could meet him. But his brother John is quite a character and told me some great stories.

Leave a Reply

