Rhythms of Writing

Mama with her best friend Marilyn (1960s)

Mama had a stroke on Sunday, soon after I sent Cynthia Newberry Martin a piece for her blog, Catching Days.

At the first of every month, Cynthia features a guest writer in a series called “How We Spend Our Days.” When she asked me to contribute, I captured a day with my mother. Since then, I’ve been spending days (and nights) with Mama in her room at a local hospital.

To read my guest post about writing and visiting my mother before a blood clot downed a tree in the language center of her brain, click here.

About Darrelyn Saloom

Darrelyn Saloom co-wrote My Call to the Ring: A Memoir of a Girl who Yearns to Box (Glasnevin, 2012) with world champion boxer, Deirdre Gogarty, but her pugilistic passions are confined to a keyboard. Darrelyn lives with her husband and various critters on a horse farm in south Louisiana, where she is working on a collection of personal essays and stories. To learn more, visit her website at http://darrelynsaloom.com or follow her on Twitter: @DarrelynSaloom
This entry was posted in Guest Post for Catching Days. Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Rhythms of Writing

  1. Ro Rainwater says:

    ♥♥♥ to you and your mama. Love your piece for Catching Days. It gives me hope for my own stop-start creativity rhythm, and, as usual, I love your honesty and that tiny slice of your life you shared. Keep on rocking your rhythm, my friend!

  2. Ron says:

    We must catch each and every day because once it has been squandered, it is gone forever. As always my friend, your words come from the heart, not from your keyboard

  3. jpon says:

    A wonderful post on Catching Days. Pulling for your mom to make a full recovery.

  4. cynthia says:

    Thanks again for sharing your day, Darrelyn! A few years ago, when I was visiting my mother in a Florida hospital, we also watched Everybody Loves Raymond. That was the first time I’d ever seen it. I’m not much of a sitcom watcher, but that show is one of my favorites : )

  5. Katy says:

    You look like her, D!! Hoping she recovers soon:-)

    • Thanks, Katy. I do look like her. And I seem to be turning into her, too. Wish I could dance to Hazel’s daughter when she sings on Sunday. Have a great gig. Hope to make the next one.

Leave a Reply

