What Is Feminism?

MJ

My granddaughter Mary-Jane on Thanksgiving Day 2012

Today I am sharing my thoughts on feminism in a blog post for the Virginia Quarterly Review.

My granddaughter Mary-Jane inspired the piece on Thanksgiving Day.

To read, follow me over to “What Is Feminism?” Feel free to comment or share your views.

For more on the subject, Jane Friedman has gathered VQR blog posts published throughout the past two months in A Range of Perspectives on Feminism & The Female Conscience.

Also, be sure to check out VQR’s Fall 2012 issue on The Female Conscience.

About Darrelyn Saloom

Darrelyn Saloom co-wrote My Call to the Ring: A Memoir of a Girl who Yearns to Box (Glasnevin, 2012) with world champion boxer, Deirdre Gogarty, but her pugilistic passions are confined to a keyboard. Darrelyn lives with her husband and various critters on a horse farm in south Louisiana, where she is working on a collection of personal essays and stories. To learn more, visit her website at http://darrelynsaloom.com or follow her on Twitter: @DarrelynSaloom
This entry was posted in Guest Post for the Virginia Quarterly Review and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to What Is Feminism?

  1. shirleyhs says:

    This is just a perfect post in my opinion, Darrelyn. Maybe it’s because I have a new granddaughter to cherish, support, and challenge.

  2. Dave Malone says:

    Great post, Darrelyn. I left a comment on the VQR site. 🙂

  3. cydmadsen says:

    I especially like your closing thought that feminism is both a life raft and a love song. I’ve explained why on a rather lengthy comment on the VQR site. It’s a lovely post you’ve written. In ancient Greek, the word “meek” mean “power contained.” Rather feminine in nature, I think, and quite nicely expressed in your post.

  4. Cyd. I just read your wonderful comment and left a reply. Thank you, my friend. So glad you enjoyed. Interesting tidbit about the word meek. Meekly yours, D 🙂

  5. Carolyn says:

    I enjoyed reading this article and the style in which it was written.

  6. Thanks, Carolyn. And double thanks for leaving such a sweet comment on VQR’s blog.

Leave a Reply

