Few Words

sit with me in silence

 

Few words are coming.

So pull up a chair.

We can sit in quiet.

To begin the new year.

About Darrelyn Saloom

Darrelyn Saloom co-wrote My Call to the Ring: A Memoir of a Girl who Yearns to Box (Glasnevin, 2012) with world champion boxer, Deirdre Gogarty, but her pugilistic passions are confined to a keyboard. Darrelyn lives with her husband and various critters on a horse farm in south Louisiana, where she is working on a collection of personal essays and stories. To learn more, visit her website at http://darrelynsaloom.com or follow her on Twitter: @DarrelynSaloom
This entry was posted in Guest Posts for Word Candy. Bookmark the permalink.

17 Responses to Few Words

  1. shirleyhs says:

    Less is more!

    This picture reminded me of my little grandson Owen, not quite two years old. If you say “hand,” he will give you his hand and go anywhere you take him. So trusting.

    Happy New Year!

  2. Jodi Paloni says:

    So sweet, and thank you again for the gift of lemons in 2012. We have one left. I take it out and hold it, then put it away. Second to last went into the guacamole.

  3. Pamela Cooper says:

    Today is a good day to begin that way. Let the dust settle. Calm down. Stay in the moment. Observe. Listen. Breathe. Contemplate. That said, I’d like to pull up a chair next to you soon and catch up. Happy New Year, dear friend.

  4. cydmadsen says:

    Very nice, to be sure.

  5. Sally and Louis says:

    Happy Happy New Year my darling girl…one too many champagne toasts later. This, coupled with a big dinner, leaves me not in a chair but in bed. Tell Jodi I’ll be happy to take that last lemon off of her hands.

  6. One of my very favorite Pooh lines. 🙂

  7. Debra Marrs says:

    Love sitting in quiet with you ANY day, Darrelyn. Happy New Year to you!

  8. Pingback: Sweet Bloggers Roundup: WordCandy from the Tumblr - Tweetspeak Poetry

  9. cynthia says:

    I love the A. A. Milne. I have it on a postcard in my study. And I’m ready for some quiet : )

  10. After the holidays, I didn’t want to post a long piece when what most need is their hand held and quiet. Who better than A. A. Milne?

    So glad you stopped by.

Leave a Reply

