The Breaking

Photo by Herman King

Photo by Herman King 

When Laura Barkat asked me to pen a few words about Purple, I thought I’d write about Mardi Gras or my niece Jenny (it’s her favorite color).

Imagine my surprise when a murderous man named Wendell showed up instead.

If you’re curious and enjoy flash fiction, grab your mud boots and follow me down the Mississippi via Tweetspeak Poetry to read “The Breaking.”

About Darrelyn Saloom

Darrelyn Saloom co-wrote My Call to the Ring: A Memoir of a Girl who Yearns to Box (Glasnevin, 2012) with world champion boxer, Deirdre Gogarty, but her pugilistic passions are confined to a keyboard. Darrelyn lives with her husband and various critters on a horse farm in south Louisiana, where she is working on a collection of personal essays and stories. To learn more, visit her website at http://darrelynsaloom.com or follow her on Twitter: @DarrelynSaloom
This entry was posted in Guest Post for Tweetspeak Poetry. Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to The Breaking

  1. syd webre says:

    LOVED this. It’s so beautifully written that I kept rereading it.Thought provoking and hard to forget! You should develop it into a book.

  2. Love your photo. Whenever I think of purple, I think of Harold–with his purple crayon : )

  3. Carolyn says:

    I enjoyed your story.

  4. davemalone says:

    Fabulous…you do so much, so fast. :Er, I mean, so much, so flash. : P

  5. Jenny F says:

    An entire month dedicated to purple? I’m drooling.
    This piece is fantastic.
    I’m off to explore the other purple-inspired pieces. Thanks for sharing!

  6. Tweetspeak is a beautiful place to play, Jenny. Enjoy!

  7. It’s wonderful, Darrelyn. And filled with foreboding!

  8. Thanks, Richard. I had fun writing it, though I first resisted Wendell’s dark truth, but he wouldn’t let me. So glad you enjoyed.

Leave a Reply

