Garden District Book Event

While working on My Call to the Ring: A Memoir of a Girl Who Yearns to Box, my inner life often resembled the above photo by Lyla Willingham Lindquist. The writing life is a self-inflicted solitary pursuit, and it can be lonely at times.

Talk to me when I’m working, and I probably won’t hear you. I may nod yes or no, but I’m miles away.  Most of the time, I’m following an unknown track and trying to figure out where it’s going.

Tonight, I know exactly where I’m headed because Garden District Book Shop in New Orleans is hosting a book event for Deirdre Gogarty and me from 6-8 p.m. I intend to enjoy every minute.

If you’re in the New Orleans area this evening, I’d love for you to drop by and meet Deirdre Gogarty, a champion boxer who learned early to “be so good they can’t ignore you.” 

We will be signing books, and Deirdre plans to demonstrate that women can box. Author Sonny Brewer will be there, too. And word has it—he’s bringing his guitar.  

Hope to see you in the Garden District.

About Darrelyn Saloom

Darrelyn Saloom co-wrote My Call to the Ring: A Memoir of a Girl who Yearns to Box (Glasnevin, 2012) with world champion boxer, Deirdre Gogarty, but her pugilistic passions are confined to a keyboard. Darrelyn lives with her husband and various critters on a horse farm in south Louisiana, where she is working on a collection of personal essays and stories. To learn more, visit her website at http://darrelynsaloom.com or follow her on Twitter: @DarrelynSaloom
This entry was posted in Guest Posts for Word Candy. Bookmark the permalink.

26 Responses to Garden District Book Event

  1. Carolyn says:

    Enjoy!

  2. So near, yet so far away. I’m sure it will be a knock out event. I love the book!

  3. Thanks, Shirley. I loved meeting you yesterday. Just wish we’d had more time.

  4. Pamela Cooper says:

    I’ll be taking you there. Can’t wait!

  5. I won’t be there tonight but I’m New Orleans bound – a Jazz Event March 6-10, but would love to get together afterward if possible!!! Good luck with your book event; my fingers are crossed for lots of attendees.

  6. davemalone says:

    What a super-stellar, inspirational event…”be so good they can’t ignore you.” Damn straight. : ) Jenni and I will be there in spirit.

  7. jpon says:

    Hope it went well. Your writing focus reminds me of our house. I have learned to tune out ringing phones, barking dogs and sometimes even my wife’s questions, although that last one usually means trouble later.

  8. cynthia says:

    That sounds like so much fun. I’d love a post-event report : )

    • It was great, Cynthia. The crowd loved Sonny’s guitar playing and Dee’s reading of first landing in New Orleans from Ireland. When she worked the hand pads with a couple of boxers, people in the audience looked amazed. A few were gape-mouthed. I could tell we were entertaining them, which was fun. I will be posting more about it with lots of pics.

  9. davemalone says:

    Me, too!

  10. Marge says:

    Wish I could attend 😊

  11. shirleyhs says:

    You were so good they couldn’t ignore you!

  12. Cindy Bullion says:

    Darrelyn, I can’t wait for you to share how the Book Event in N.O. went yesterday! xoxoxo

  13. Pingback: WordCandy Sweet Blogger Roundup on the Prairie - Tweetspeak Poetry

Leave a Reply

