The Worst Kind of Luck

Roger and Mama in south Texas (circa 1959).

Roger (the “other man”) and Mama in south Texas (circa 1960).

In the lower Rio Grande Valley, Mama had a best friend named Billie Burnside, three young daughters, and an always-traveling encyclopedia salesman for a husband. She also had a job slinging drinks at the Circle Inn lounge. My mother usually left my sisters and me at home when she worked. But there were times she’d have to take us to the bar.

Click here to continue reading “The Worst Kind of Luck,” a memoir essay from my work-in-progress published today at Tweetspeak Poetry

About Darrelyn Saloom

Darrelyn Saloom co-wrote My Call to the Ring: A Memoir of a Girl who Yearns to Box (Glasnevin, 2012) with world champion boxer, Deirdre Gogarty, but her pugilistic passions are confined to a keyboard. Darrelyn lives with her husband and various critters on a horse farm in south Louisiana, where she is working on a collection of personal essays and stories. To learn more, visit her website at http://darrelynsaloom.com or follow her on Twitter: @DarrelynSaloom
This entry was posted in Tweetspeak Poetry and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to The Worst Kind of Luck

  1. davemalone says:

    Wow! What a powerful opening. To Tweetspeak I go.

  2. Ron says:

    So much more enjoyable than Reader’s Digest. I wasn’t going to win the million anyway!

  3. Debra Marrs says:

    A poignant story so beautifully wrought. Thank you, Darrelyn, for making my first read of the day so pleasant.

  4. My pleasure, Debra. Thank you for stopping by.

  5. Zeke says:

    I just love your style Darrelyn. As always, it’s a pleasure to read your work.

  6. Megan says:

    After a long day of decorating, innumerable candy snacks, and annoying costume malfunctions, this story was just what I needed to get away. The prose dragged me into the story with such grace it was as if I were reading atop a unicorn darting through space on a galactic rainbow.

    Bravo

  7. cynthia says:

    I was off the internet all day yesterday, and this morning, as soon as I got my Nov 1 post up, I came straight here. Love the photo. Can’t wait to read the rest of the story!

  8. Thanks, C. I just read Andrea Portes’ post over on Catching Days. Enjoyed every word. 🙂

  9. bullion9 says:

    Hi Darrelyn! Is the plan to eventually publish your memoir?  That would be so awesome. I want the rest of the story, lol!I hope you and all the family are doing well!Much Love,Cindy

  10. Marge Helmbold says:

    This is a great article. I am very proud of you. New computer and iphone change. Would you kindly send me you correct phone, address and e-mail I would love to talk to you and catch up cousin.

    love, Margaret Duke

Leave a Reply

